South Africa Names Squad For Aisha Buhari Cup

The head coach of South Africa’s women’s football team, Desiree Ellis, has named an 18-woman squad for the Aisha Buhari Invitational tournament, dubbed the Aisha Buhari Cup.

Banyana Banyana will take on Ghana and Cameroon in the six-nation women’s tournament billed for 15th – 21st September 2021 in Lagos, Nigeria.

The domestic players are expected to depart for Nigeria on Sunday, 12th September 2021, where they will be joined by their overseas-based players. For Coach Ellis, the Aisha Buhari Cup is ideal for her team’s preparations for the AWCON qualifiers.

South Africa’s women’s football coach Desiree Ellis

“We have the Aisha Buhari Cup, the COSAFA Cup and the AWCON qualifiers and we have already worked on what we think we will need over the next two months,” Ellis said.

“Consistency and regular game time is always key as we are trying to make sure that we have covered our bases but the first tournament (Aisha Buhari Cup) will dictate what happens next.”

South Africa take on Mozambique in the first round of qualifiers of the Africa Women’s Cup of Nations scheduled to hold in Morocco.

South Africa Squad

Goalkeepers: Kaylin Swart (JVW FC); Regirl Ngobeni (University of Western Cape)

Defenders: Lebohang Ramalepe (Dinamo Minsk); Janine Van Wyk (Glasgow City); Tiisetso Makhubele (Tshwane University of Technology); Bambanani Mbane (Mamelodi Sundowns FC); Koketso Tlailane (Tshwane University of Technology FC)

Midfielders: Ongeziwe Ndlangisa (Sunflower FC); Mamello Makhabane (JVW FC); Thembi Kgatlana (Atletico Madrid); Refiloe Jane (AC Milan); Linda Motlhalo (Djurgardens FC); Robyn Moodaly (JVW FC); Noxolo Cesane (University of Western Cape); Gabriela Salgado (JVW FC)

Forwards: Sibulele Holweni (University of Western Cape); Melinda Kgadiete (Mamelodi Sundowns FC); Hildah Magaia (Moron BK).

Leave a Comment

Do you find Netxclusive useful? Click here to give us five stars rating!

Related Posts


No one has commented yet. Be the first!
Leave a Reply